Skip Navigation

Executive Committee

Shelby R. Chipman, PhD

Dr. Chipman is the director of bands at Florida A&M University. He received his bachelor of science degrees in Computer Science and Music Education from FAMU, completed his master’s degree in Music Education from the University of Illinois, and received his Ph.D. in Music Education from Florida State University. Prior to his appointment at FAMU he taught music in the Miami-Dade County Public School system for 10 years.  He is active as an adjudicator, clinician, and guest conductor throughout the United States. 

Past President
Steven N. Kelly, PhD

Dr. Kelly is a Professor of Music Education in the College of Music at The Florida State University. He received his bachelor and master degrees in music from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and his Ph.D. in music education from the University of Kansas. Prior to his appointment at FSU, Dr. Kelly taught in the Virginia public schools, and on the faculties at Brevard College and the University of Nebraska (Omaha). He is an active clinician, adjudicator, consultant, and guest conductor across the United States. 

Jason Locker

Mr. Locker is Senior Administrator of Visual and Performing Arts for Orange County Public Schools. Previously, he was a high school choral music educator for 18 years. Choirs under his direction consistently received superior ratings at District and State Music Performance Assessments, were invited to perform in several prestigious events and venues. He holds the Bachelor of Music Education from the University of Florida, the Master of Music Education from Florida State University, and is currently pursuing the Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at the University of South Florida.


Board Members

FBA President:<br />Bernie Hendricks, Jr.

FBA President:
Bernie Hendricks, Jr.

FCMEA President:<br>Marc Decker, DMA

FCMEA President:
Marc Decker, DMA

FEMEA President:<br>Joani Slawson

FEMEA President:
Joani Slawson

FMSA President:<br>Lindsey Williams, PhD

FMSA President:
Lindsey Williams, PhD

FOA President:<br>Laurie Bitters

FOA President:
Laurie Bitters

FVA President:<br>Jennine Stemmer

FVA President:
Jennine Stemmer

Florida NAfME Collegiate President:<br>Allison Yopp

Florida NAfME Collegiate President:
Allison Yopp

Florida NAfME Collegiate Advisor:<br>Mark Belfast, PhD

Florida NAfME Collegiate Advisor:
Mark Belfast, PhD

Member at Large: Chad Norton

Member at Large: Chad Norton


Committee Chairpersons

Awards: Sondra Collins

Awards: Sondra Collins

Budget;Finance Development:<br>Shelby Chipman, PhD

Budget;Finance Development:
Shelby Chipman, PhD

Committee Council<br />Scott Evans

Committee Council
Scott Evans

Contemporary Media:<br>David Williams, PhD

Contemporary Media:
David Williams, PhD

Corporate & Academic Partners:<br>Fred Schiff

Corporate & Academic Partners:
Fred Schiff

Emerging Leaders:<br>Mary Palmer, EdD

Emerging Leaders:
Mary Palmer, EdD

Government Relations:<br>Jeanne W. Reynolds

Government Relations:
Jeanne W. Reynolds

Health & Wellness:<br>Revae Douglass

Health & Wellness:
Revae Douglass

Multicultural Network:<br>Bruce J. Green

Multicultural Network:
Bruce J. Green

Professional Development:<br>Scott Evans

Professional Development:
Scott Evans

Reclamation:<br />Chad Norton

Chad Norton

Research:<br>William I. Bauer, PhD

William I. Bauer, PhD

Secondary General Music:<br>Ed Prasse

Secondary General Music:
Ed Prasse

Student Development:<br>Michael Antmann, EdD

Student Development:
Michael Antmann, EdD

Social Justice & Diverse Learners:<br />Alice-Ann Darrow

Social Justice & Diverse Learners:
Alice-Ann Darrow


Ex-Officio Members

Florida School Music Association President: Jane Goodwin

Florida School Music Association President: Jane Goodwin

Florida Music Director Editor-in-Chief: D. Gregory Springer, PhD

Florida Music Director Editor-in-Chief: D. Gregory Springer, PhD

Conference Planning Chair:<br>John Southall, PhD

Conference Planning Chair:
John Southall, PhD